Library

No one’s really watching
The clock hand moves mutely
Cameras are stationed inside
miniature crystal balls with
black glass hiding the interior
I pretend they don’t exist
These are UFOs and I
am the government
This building alone brings
about the realization that
there are more books than
people alive in the world
In here, any given person
is outnumbered three-hundred
fifty thousand to one
That’s still better odds
than the lottery
One can absorb luck
Taxing oneself is free
I know I’m not
the only one who needs

I read in a book once
that language is the building
block of life; there was more,
I just didn’t read that far

– Eric McCarty (7/13/2012)

Leave a Reply

