Book Review: You’re Not You by Michelle Wildgen

Last week I dragged myself into the library to search for a book comprised of short stories. After searching the shelf for a few minutes I realized it wasn’t there. I kept scanning for other authors I might recognize in that section of fiction. Once that proved impossible, I decided to just open a few novels and read the initial paragraphs to see which might hold my attention all the way through. I put a few back, read titles on the spine (without actually pulling these out) before finally coming across You’re Not You. I pulled it loose from the hug of others and read the first page; soon after I made my exit.

Faith was probably one of the strongest elements involved in picking this book blind. I must admit, I wouldn’t be writing this review had I not made a great choice. Now I’m hoping someone else will find it as riveting as I do.

The story revolves around the life of young twenty-something, college student Bec. On the surface one might conclude this is just another young person’s story, but that would be an inaccurate assumption. You’re Not You is relevant to all adults. Here are the themes of choice for author Michelle Wildgen: finding oneself, friendship, death, relationships, adultery, and morality. Inevitably, I expect most readers to pause and question what their own decision would be in situations that Bec experiences.

One of the main reasons I find this such an interesting read is that I came away with the feeling that there really is no right answer in certain situations. When does certain behavior become expected instead of selfish? What should be said? What should be done? How would I react in the moment of emergency? These questions are all difficult to answer, but it is interesting to witness the life of people who have to make these tough decisions. There is really a seesaw in effect here where readers have the opportunity to analyze the conflicts from different perspectives. Everyone can’t be right. Right?

-Eric McCarty (5/10/2012)

Yesterday’s poem: Fly Fingers

2 thoughts on “Book Review: You’re Not You by Michelle Wildgen

  1. Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A theme like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog
    stand out. Please let me know where you got your design.
    Cheers

Leave a Reply

