Turnover

Just last week we lost
An employee who quit,
With no two-week’s notice
And no future job lined up

He’d been employed here
For a year and four months,
No one heard him pack
All of his belongings,
I didn’t know he was gone
Until the following morning
When I was told, I mourned
For myself

A part of me exits
Everyday another day
Is purged from my life

This week, another employee
Puts in his two-week resignation,
I never liked him until now

Our boss let them both leave
The day of their announcement
I could feel them withholding
A smile

The only reason the rest of us stay,
Is because the economy
Has us

– Eric McCarty (5/8/2012)

One thought on “Turnover

  1. Pingback: Fly Fingers « gporiginal

Leave a Reply

