Eye Popcorn

I lay
Legs dangling from my nest; head
Perched atop more pillows
Than maybe I’m worth

Posters secure an escape
For my eyes – or maybe
I mean my mind

One flash of Michael Jordan
Skying against the permission
Of aerial laws, palms my west wall

Even Knicks opponents watch
His triumph into another galaxy

Tasteless sweat slicks this soaring sculpture
His silent scream,
Exhaling the air of gods

The colorless background refuses to rob
A moment of this highlight

Only Jordan’s wardrobe has life

Eating the moment to pass the time

– Eric McCarty (4/16/2012)

Leave a Reply

