Life’s Greatest Distraction

An inverted sky commode
Vomits a spear toward earth
Striking a split second decay of darkness
That peels away sightlessness

Nature is more alive than I am
I am the broken string on a cheap violin
Melodies are woven despite my state of fracture
And somehow I can be pieced together by the love of our laughter

I needed more than the roar of God’s belly

Tonight I’ve come to understand the hunger of life

– Eric McCarty (3/20/2012)

Last Monday’s Poem: The Day I Tried Too Hard (3/19/2012)

6 thoughts on “Life’s Greatest Distraction

  1. Pingback: Kites « gporiginal

  2. Pingback: Kites « gporiginal

Leave a Reply

