Recent Reads

Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein
Kurt Vonnegut’s Sirens of Titan
Anthony Burgess’ A Clockwork Orange

Of these three novels I have to admit I enjoyed A Clockwork Orange the most. It was fun to try to pick up the language of Anthony Burgess. I’ve never read a book of his before (and technically maybe I still haven’t since I listened to the audio book), but now I will have to. The main character was so fully developed I felt like I knew him. As time progressed he seemed to both grow and stay the same, which I found very realistic.

I’d recommend Kurt Vonnegut to anyone – even if I think he’s too crazy for them. He’s just an imaginative fun box, but his topics are the opposite; very interesting mix. I highly recommend both Slaughterhouse-Five & Cat’s Cradle). Sirens of Titan was my most recent read. As for now, I’m back in classes and focusing heavily on poetry and storytelling.

I was constructing this post a few days ago and just left it incomplete. I decided to post the reads and not analyze or explain them so much. I told myself they won’t be recent reads forever. I think sharing our interests will help us all find new authors or old one’s we’ve read before, but now overlook that we can enjoy. I used to be a music junkie and piggy back off what others listen to frequently and what my favorite artists like and a bunch of different other ways to find new stuff. I’m trying to take that approach to my reading now when I can.

3 thoughts on “Recent Reads

  1. I have wanted to read “A Clockwork Orange” for years. Still have yet to. “Frankenstein” is also on my list. I may have to add something of Kurt Vonnegut’s. So many books in this world…

  2. I had a friend tell me about “A Clockwork Orange” about a year and a half ago. He never told me any details, but just thought I should read it and would enjoy it. He was right.

    I wonder what others are reading.?

  3. Right now I am reading “The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest” I love this trilogy.

    And a book I bought from my library’s used book sale, The Devils Advocate. I just started it, but already, I am hooked.

Leave a Reply

