Deer aim,

I’m alert
*ping! – pyune!*
Sorry.
Trust me, it’s been a while
I can’t count the days
I can’t count the years
That’s it’s taken me to forget
The fear that my mind
Would never reappear here
I’ve had my eyes clogged with frost in the forest
While aiming amongst the deep brush at deer
My gunshot’s echo produced no dead deer near
Where I hoped a corpse might collapse

That was then
That was that
Deer is no animal and I am no marksman
Deer is a symbol; a goal
Now I hope I have the power of energy
In my hold; finally within my own control

– Eric McCarty (1/17/2012)

3 thoughts on “Deer aim,

Leave a Reply

