(“If I just log off then what’ll happen?”)

(“If I just log off then what’ll happen?”)
I had a dream once
God spoke to me I think
I couldn’t see myself or him
I just saw green
Split in the middle with blackness
That sort of faded away into green
Maybe I stopped breathing in my sleep

I’m just another machine
Programmed by the powers that be
I’m controlled by moral codes
Used until I’m fried for the day
I still turn on every day
Other machines reboot me in the morning
My bedmate reboots me if I start snoring
I start / sluggish
Newer models are more attractive
Owners prefer specific colors over another
(“Why?”) I asked myself then “Why”
I asked my machine brother
(“If I just log off then what’ll happen?”)
I must have typed this aloud for he replied
“Your parts will be recycled and refurbished
Into a better and basically brand new you”

I just saw green
Split in the middle with blackness

– Eric McCarty (1/12/2012)

Leave a Reply

