Romance

I can camp under the tent of misery until the world calls me to come back
The voice must be soulful – I must be low on food, water, and other survival necessities
Only then will I break camp, hush my fire, dust it with dirt and pack up
This is the sort of romance we have – fighting and leaving and coming back
Each time I’m welcomed home with open arms and we hug while the globe dizzies itself
She hugs me like an infant orphan instead of her lover – trying not to break me
I’m disguised by this, I deserve her undying infatuation that never wilts; never clips its wings
She always attracts me with her song; it’s so beautiful to believe; it feels so right, it feels so wrong

– Eric McCarty (1/10/2012)

4 thoughts on “Romance

  1. Pingback: Nomination…Whaaa? :-) « knockaroundmeg

Leave a Reply

