On days like this you’re missed the most

On days like this you’re missed the most
I spit out spite like sunflower seed shells
I stomp vines when the wind is mute
Risks take me adrift on a parachute ride

How soon I’ve forgotten the strength of the
mind, reducing my lifelust in small
paces – I stroll slowly to reduce effort
My boots drip onto the immobile ripples of –

If sorrow were a chemical element
My final word would be a cough of disgust
Inhaling liquid guck instead of oxygen
as my soul yawns, and then all is gone

– ripples of earth sink beneath my feet
Snake-wave-crevices uglify concrete
I walk the controlled stroll of a man
well-traveled – on this dark retched road

– Eric McCarty (12/15/2011)

Leave a Reply

