That’s happiness.

Catch me on a Friday afternoon
and discover my mood
That’s happiness.
I lick my lips a bit in anticipation
once I awake with a grin
I spend time in competition
Hoping to beat my alarm clock’s siren
Usually I beat it with my palm to cause its calm
I walk my dog on other people’s lawns
pausing to watch the sun draw dawn

Each of these mornings when the birds begin to sing
I throw rocks to watch them dodge the sting
Do they know it’s Friday?
Do they know happiness?

It’s just too bad I’m still at work
Catch me on a Saturday…

– Eric McCarty (written 11/18/2011)

Leave a Reply

