emotional strip tease

I hope I’m making the right decision
Choices pound me like sticks on stage drums
I collapse into a world of dumb
Trying to appease the highest judge
Only my mind is numb
[This is my most truthful moment]
Slowly eating the day’s last crumbs
Flapping the wet wings of my gums
So you can see inside
Where all is empty
I do an emotional strip tease
Here numbness is nudity
And clothing is merely a weapon of stealth to cover our flaws
I crawl on two paws
(Landing) Closer to ground I’ve gone
Indecision is strong
Prayer was never my downfall
Knowing exactly what to say
Is where I go wrong

-Eric McCarty (written 11/16/2011)

Leave a Reply

