*

*

I shed my thoughts onto pages
Combing through hair flicking flurries of intellectual dandruff
Descending flakes spread wings
Sprinkling ideas
Hair follicles fall as graciously as would feathers
I write in print – misspelling words
Looking back at them in disgust knowing my attempts were inaccurate
By these inaccuracies I plan to place an asterisk
So if my books fall into the wrong hands
One will read my stream of consciousness
And not imagine me a dumb man

-Eric McCarty (written 8/27/2011)
(edited with corrections)

2 thoughts on “*

  1. I’ve been enjoying your poetry and very much admiring some of your lines. I especially like the final line of this one. I look forward to reading more of your stuff.I love the pic of the handwritten version. Nice touch!

  2. Thank you very much. I was trying to figure out what would be the best way to get the point across on this poem and so I took a picture of what I wrote (with all the misspellings that aren’t seen when I have the luxury of spell check). At the top I actually misspelled Asterisk (marked it out) then spelled it correctly (marked out), then decided it was more fun titling it *. I’ve read your most resent poem and I like that, so I will be looking for me and checking out some of your previous posts as well.

Leave a Reply

